Music Video: Panic! At The Disco – The Ballad of Mona Lisa; Upcoming Album: Panic! At The Disco – Vices & Virtues; and Short Film: The Overture by Shane Drake featuring Panic! At The Disco


The Ballad of Mona Lisa is P!ATD’s single on their upcoming album Vices & Virtues, which will be released on March 28, 2011. This song has been in my head for weeks and I’ve been unconsciously singing it.

.

Here’s the Trailer:

.

And the Lyric Video:

.

The Official Video of The Ballad of Mona Lisa by Panic! At The Disco

She paints her fingers with a close precision. He starts to notice empty bottles of gin;
And takes a moment to assess the sin she’s paid for.

A lonely speaker in a conversation. Her words are spinning through his ears again.
There’s nothing wrong with just a taste of what you’ve paid for.

Refrain:

Say what you mean, tell me I’m right; And let the sun rain down on me.
Give me a sign, I want to believe.

Chorus:

Woah, Mona Lisa, you’re guaranteed to run this townWoah, Mona Lisa, I’d pay to see you frown.

He senses something, call it desperation. Another dollar, another day.
And if she had the proper words to say, she would tell him. But she’d have nothing left to sell him.

(Repeat Refrain – Chorus)

Bridge:

Mona Lisa, wear me out. Pleased to please Ya. Mona Lisa, wear me out.

(Repeat Refrain – Chorus – Refrain)

There’s nothing wrong with just a taste of what you’ve paid for.

They have done it again – to impress me on another music video. The introduction made a resemblance to the introduction of the music video of their previous successful song I Write Sins, Not Tragedies, which is one of my favorite music videos of all time.

But the resemblance is slight; it is more likely an afterlude. And the transition is swift. The video tells a story about a man on a burial and how he (as a ghost) made his killer, Mary (which I later known as his fiancée), known. As I go on with the video, I noticed the setting is of the steampunk era – the outfits, the props, and instruments (the cello is wicked). This video is definitely a work of art.

With Ryan Ross (the main lyricist from the previous albums) and Jon Walker gone, P!ATD is now a two-man band. But this doesn’t stop Brendon Urie and Spencer Smith from bringing this beautiful song to life.

.

Behind The Scenes

A few of the ideas — like “The Ballad of Mona Lisa”, specifically — was from an idea I had probably four years ago, before we even started touring on Pretty. Odd., and it was just sitting in my laptop collecting figurative dust on my hard drive, not really doing much” – Brendon Urie

.

The Overture (a short film directed by Shane Drake)

On this short film, it shows how many people have been with them.

But in the end, they’re both left alone.

You can listen to the full album now on their Facebook page.

___________________________________________________________________________

The Ballad of Mona Lisa.
.
.
The Ballad of Mona Lisa [Single]

Video Released Date: February 1, 2011

Song Written by:Brendon Urie

Single Release Date: March 28, 2011

.

..

.

Vices & Virtues

.

Vices & Virtues

Release Date: March 22, 2011

All songs composed by: Brendon Urie and Spencer Smith

Produced by: John Felman and Butch Walker

Performed by: Panic! At The Disco

.

.
___________________________________________________________________________

Directed by: Shane Drake | Produced by: Brandon Bonfiligo

Official Site: http://panicatthedisco.com/

Buy it on: Amazon [Audio CD / MP3 Download]

5 Comments to “Music Video: Panic! At The Disco – The Ballad of Mona Lisa; Upcoming Album: Panic! At The Disco – Vices & Virtues; and Short Film: The Overture by Shane Drake featuring Panic! At The Disco”

  1. Hello, I found your blog in the new directory of blogs. I don’t discover how your site came up, have to have been a typo. Your blog looks good, possess a nice day.

  2. I just wanted to comment & say that I was very impressed with the design on your blog & also your writing skills.. happy holidays!

  3. I’ve been visiting your blog for a while now and I always find a gem in your new posts. Thanks for sharing.

